Red Giant PluralEyes

Exporting to EDIUS

In PluralEyes 4, you can export a synchronized timeline as an XML file that can be imported into EDIUS 7.5 or later. To access this feature, click the Export Timeline tab, then choose EDIUS from the Export Format drop-down menu.

What is XML?

An XML file is a small text file that references your media files, and indicates the order and spacing of the media files relative to each other. When you import the XML file, EDIUS creates a new folder in the Asset Bin with the sequence(s) and all the media that's in the sequence(s). 

TIP: You always have the option of exporting the timeline as video/audio files, rather than exporting an XML file. To learn about this, see Export Timeline> Media Files.

EXPORTING TO EDIUS

Here are the steps:

  1. (Optional) Save your project with a meaningful name. This will make it easier to locate and manage your exported files later.
  2. Click the Export Timeline tab in the toolbar, OR choose File> Export Timeline from the top pull-down menu.
  3. Select EDIUS from the Export Format drop-down selector.
  4. In the Exports window, you will see a row titled <project name>.xml. You can click the XML file name to change its name or the location that it is going to be saved. 
  5. Click Export.
  6. Open EDIUS, create a new project and choose a project setting with the frame rate that matches the video clips'.
  7. Choose File>Import Project>FCP XML ... and browse to the exported XML file then choose Open. 
  8. Single-click the newly created folder in the Asset Bin under root, you will find the media and the synced sequence(s). 



OPTION: CREATE A SEQUENCE WITH AUDIO REPLACED

With this option, the audio content that was recorded in your original video clips is replaced in the synced timeline. Now no further effort is required to keep these clips in sync during the editing process. This is useful if you have one or more audio-only tracks containing your “good” audio, and you no longer need the “bad” audio from the original video clips.

In the newly created folder in the EDIUS Asset Bin, there are two sequences:

  • A sequence with the name “Synced Sequence Replaced.” This includes new audio clips trimmed to match the length of corresponding video clips.
  • A sequence with the name “Synced Sequence.” This includes all of your original audio content, in case you want to use audio content that was recorded on your video cameras.

Things to know about this option:

  • None of the audio content from the original video clips is included.
  • If there are two or more audio-only tracks in your PluralEyes project, only the uppermost audio clip that overlaps with a given video clip is included.
  • Selecting this option does not require additional disk space. The original media files are not modified in any way, and no additional media files are generated.

OPTION: MOVE UNSYNCHRONIZED CLIPS TO THE END

With this option, all the unsynchronized clips will be moved to the end of the timeline after a sync is done.