Red Giant PluralEyes

Working with Tracks and Media Clips

This page discusses how to manage the tracks and media clips in the PluralEyes interface.

How the clips display

Each video clip in PluralEyes goes into only one track per recognized device. You won’t see its audio displayed as a second track, unlike some NLEs that split the visual and audio content of a video clip into two tracks. Tracks If PluralEyes can't determine what the frame rate is, then it defaults to displaying 29.97 fps. If a clip is determined with a different frame rates, then you'll see a warning that says "Inconsistent frame rate".

Navigating the clips in a project

Play a clip. After you add clips to a project, you can play them to make sure they are the clips you intended to add. It's also helpful to play orphaned clips after syncing to see if it's something you can delete or replace. To play only the audio on a clip, simply double-click on the clip in the desired track and the audio will play. To review the video and audio of a clip, right-click on the selected clip and chose Show In Player and the Player panel will open at the bottom of the PluralEyes window. You can also open the Player from the top pull-down menu by selecting View > Show Player or simply hit "P" on your keyboard. Then any clip you select will be the active clip you can play in the player panel. View Clip in Player Technical Note: Some file types/codecs do not support video playback. Learn more in Supported Formats. Delete a track or media clip. To delete a clip from a PluralEyes 4 project, simple select it and use the delete key on your keyboard. A dialog box appears at the top of the window that verifies your action. Remove Clip Sometimes orphaned clips may appear in your media folder from a previous recording on your camera's media card or a test clip during setup. PluralEyes may create a separate track for this clip as it won't match anything else in the sync project you're creating. To remove the track entirely, right-click on the track you wish to eliminate and select Remove Track on the drop-down menu. Remove Track menu

Making the tracks audible

After the sync is complete, all tracks are audible (unmuted) by default. When you play one track, you will hear all tracks. For most projects, you can tell whether the clips are in sync just by listening to all tracks at once. Mute a track. You can choose to listen to some tracks but not others, by clicking the Mute/Unmute button on each track. Mute Track Solo a track. If you want to solo a track (that is, mute all other tracks but one), right-click the Mute/Unmute button of the track you want to be the solo track. If that track is already the solo track, all the other tracks will be unmuted. You can chose to Mute/Un-mute All Tracks as well. Solo-Mute Tracks Adjust track volume. Sometimes a camera or audio recorder used in a shoot records audio much louder than the other devices; for instance, if it is closer to the source of the sound. You can adjust the volume of a track by dragging the slider that appears under the mute button. (Note: volume adjustments made on the track are not exported) Clip Waveform

Vertical scale control for the waveform use the bracket keys "[" to decrease the size of the wave and "]" to increase the size of the waveform of the selected clip. This is only a visual reference and does not affect the actual volume of the audio on the selected clip.